15 August Independence Day Celebration

The Independence Day is celebrated on August 15 every year to commemorate India’s freedom from the British rule in 1947. After independence, India became the world’s largest democracy after the UK Parliament passed the Indian Independence Act, 1947, tranferring legislative sovereignty to the Indian Constituent Assembly.

The Independence Day also marks the anniversary of undivided India’s partition into India and Pakistan.
On the eve of India’s independence, Jawaharlal Nehru, the then Prime Minister, had said in his Tryst with destiny’ speech: “At the stroke of the midnight hour, when the world sleeps, India will awake to life and freedom.


Every year, the Prime Minister of India hoists the national flag at Delhi’s Red Fort and makes an address to the nation, which is followed by a military parade. The President of India also delivers the address the nation’s speech. In honour of the occasion, twenty-one gun shots are fired.

The day is observed as a national holiday across India, with offices, banks and post offices remaining closed. Independence Day is observed with flag-hosting ceremonies, parades and cultural events in all Indian states and Union Territories.

Preparation for the Independence Day start a month in advance. Schools and colleges organise cultural events, competitions, debates, speeches and quiz competitions.